More people go more places with IELTS

IELTS is the world's most popular test for higher education and global migration. Last year, over 2 million candidates took the IELTS test to start their journeys into education and employment. Itis designed to assess the language ability of people who want to study or work where English is the language of communication.

IELTS is recognised and accepted by over 9,000 organisations worldwide, including universities, employers, professional bodies, immigration authorities and other government agencies

What level is IELTS?

The IELTS scoring system is recognised globally, giving you a truly international result. You will receive a score of 0–9, with 0 being for those who did not attempt the test, and 9 being for those with a high level of English. Most universities accept scores between 6–7 as being suitable for undergraduate study in English.

The IELTS 9-band score system is consistent. It is secure, benchmarked and understood worldwide. Test materials are designed carefully so that every version of the test is the same scale of difficulty.

What is assessed in IELTS?

There are two different IELTS modules: Academic and General Training.

  • Academic module: choose this if you wish to study at undergraduate or postgraduate levels, or if you are seeking professional registration, e.g. doctors and nurses
  • General Training module: choose this if you wish to migrate to an English-speaking country or if you wish to train or study at below degree level.

In IELTS, there are four papers: Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The Speaking and Listening tests are the same in both modules, but the Reading and Writing tests are different.







60 min.

60 min.

30 min. approx (plus 10 minutes' transfer time)

11-14 min.


3 parts / 40 questions

2 parts

4 parts / 40 questions

3 parts